UK General Election: What’s Happening?




Con: 318

Lab: 261

LD: 12

SNP: 35


Other: 23 


Conservatives: 314

Labour: 266

SNP: 34

Liberal Democrats: 14


Other: 22


Next Generation Blogs prediction: Conservative WIN, just over 326 seats.

The Big Seats

Below are the ‘big seats’ to watch out for. Amongst them are the seats contested by political party leaders, such as Jeremy Corbyn and current Prime Minister Theresa May, as well as controversial seats that heavily favoured and opposed Brexit, the most marginal seats, and seats with notable independent candidates.

These will be updated through the night LIVE:

Conservatives PM Theresa May (Maidenhead):

Prime Minister Theresa May

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North):

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn

Liberal Democrats leader Tim Farron (Westmorland and Lonsdale):

Liberal Democrats leader Tim Farron

UKIP leader Paul Nuttall (Boston and Skegness):

United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP) leader Paul Nuttall

SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon (Glasgow Southside):

Scottish Nationalist Party (SNP) leader Nicola Sturgeon

Green leader Caroline Lucas (Brighton Pavilion):

Green Party leader Caroline Lucas

Largest Brexit constituency (Boston and Skegness):

Largest Remain constituency (Hornsey and Wood Green):

Independent George Galloway (Manchester Gorton):

George Galloway

Independent Mr Fishfinger (Westmorland and Lonsdale):

Mr Fishfinger

Independent Simon Danczuk (Rochdale):

Simon Danczuk

Independent Paul Sanderson MBE (Bognor Regis and Littlehampton):

Paul Sanderson MBE

Most Marginal Seats

  1. Conservative Gower (27 majority):
  2. Conservative Derby North (41 majority):
  3. Labour City of Chester (93 majority):
  4. Conservative Croydon Central (165 majority):
  5. Labour Ynys Mon (229 majority):
  6. Conservative Vale of Clwyd (237 majority):
  7. Labour Ealing Central and Acton (274 majority):
  8. SNP Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk (328):
  9. Conservative Bury North (378 majority):
  10. Labour Wirral West (417 majority):

Tonight, at 10pm, you voted in a ‘polling station’ for your favourite political party candidate (or ‘independent’ – they don’t belong to a political party), given that you were at least 18 years old. You didn’t need to bring a ‘polling card’ that you may have received in the post, and you were allowed to vote as long as you registered a few weeks back.

At 10pm tonight, the polling stations closed, and you will not be able to vote for your desired candidate. From this moment, the ‘polling cards’ (the small slip of paper that you vote on) will be gathered in each individual ‘constituency’, which is a term used by British politics to define your location/ area. After they are gathered, they are counted for each candidate.

The candidate who gains the most votes in that constituency will win a ‘parliamentary seat’ in that area, and will eventually become a ‘Member of Parliament’, or MP in short. They will represent your area to government for the next 5 years (probably) – and soon after today’s election, you will be able to email them with whatever concerns or issues you may have. They will probably respond.

Due to broadcasting restrictions, you didn’t hear full and direct coverage until after the Big Ben clock tower struck 10pm.

So what happens tonight?

From 10pm tonight individual constituencies begin to count their votes. From the moment these counts are completed, and confirmed by a counting officer, the results will be announced.

When? Well, the constituencies are announced throughout the entire night.

  • The first constituency to be announced is expected to be ‘Houghton and Sunderland South’, who have been the first to announce results for the past 6 elections. If the 2015 election is anything to go by, we can expect to hear this result at about 10:50pm.
  • Through the night, more constituencies will be announced. You can track these online, or watch TV coverage by Sky News, BBC and Channel 4.
  • Broadcasters are expected to ‘call’ elections at about 4am to 6am. ‘Calling’ is when they make their official prediction of who will win the election.

NOTE: At 10pm tonight (8 June 2017) this article was updated to feature a live ‘seat count’ at the top of this page. The key seats  will be featured in the second part of this updated page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s